The Mess – Session 2

Messy room
“Messy room” by crazytales562 is licensed under CC BY 2.0

SUMMARY

Role

Director

Intention (SMART Goal)

To direct a film that correlates with the emotions of the main character.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

  • Hayao Miyazaki
  • Directed movies such as Howl’s Moving Castle, Spirited Away, Ponyo, and My Neighbor Totoro.

Training Source(s)

  • Trello
  • This helped to organize what our team needed to accomplish for each day.
  • Film Roles Explained
  • This helped me visualize what each of our roles were.

Project Timeline

  • Day 1
  • Day 2
  • Day 3
  • Day 4
  • Day 5
  • Day 6
  • Day 7
  • Day 8

Proposed Budget

We will discuss this as a class.

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The FILM

The Mess – Session 2

Skills Commentary

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking

I had two days to develop and pitch a film idea to the class. To make the film more interesting, I chose to use cinematography and sound to correlate with the emotions of the character and events in the film.

Ways of Working

A problem we had to work around was developing a correct setting for the film. As we were filming during school it was difficult to find a space that looked like a room in a home. But, our team worked well together on using the resources available to us to tackle this problem.

Tools for Working

In pre-production, I researched professionals in my role for inspiration and techniques. I also explored how to identify beats, one of my goals for this production cycle. Additionally, from pre-production to post-production we used a Trello board with a scrum system to keep ourselves focused on each day’s tasks and to keep organized.

Ways of Living in the World

In this production cycle, I worked on presenting, organization, problem-solving, and leadership. These are all skills that are essential for success in any future career path I choose.

Reactions to the Final Version

We presented our film in front of our class. Jessica commented, “I liked the three beats and how they matched with the sounds. It gives you that feeling of dread when you have so much to do but you have to do it. I also liked your decision to have the mom call back rather than appear in the film”.

This shows that I accomplished my goal of having the emotions of the character correlate with the sound and cinematography.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

Simple – Our log-line, “person fights time to clean a room before person two arrives”, was a very simple idea to film and follow for our audience.

Unexpected – We used camera movement to surprise the audience with the extent of our character’s mess.

Emotions – The film was emotional for the audience because the character was in a state of panic. In the film, there were three back-outs. This showed the extent of the character’s mess, which gave the audience a relatable emotion of the character’s dread.

Stories – When creating my idea for this film I was inspired by events in my life and stories told by people around me. This film represented a relatable situation for the audience.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

The most significant problem our team faced was figuring out how to do the setting of the film as it was pitched as a room in a house. I learned to consider what resources and restrictions we have when creating our next film.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Lily

No comments to show.

0 comments